Monday, August 1, 2011

Buda Amarnath Yatra 2011

The 13 day long Buda Amarnath yatra was inaugurated at Yatri Niwas Bhagwati Nagar here today. The yatra, which will start from here tomorrow will culminate on Sawan Purnima full Moon coinciding with Raksha Bandhan festival on August 13 at Buda Amarnath temple in Mandi Poonch.

A large number of people including leaders and activists of VHP, Bajrang Dal and Baba Amarnath and Buda Amarnath Yatri Niyas were present on the occasion.

The function started with Maha Yagya and flag hoisting ceremony. Later addressing a gathering the VHP national secretary and spokesperson, Dr Surinder Jain said that his organization wants that Buda Amarnath should also gain countrywide popularity like Swami Amarnath yatra.

He said Swami Amarnath yatra has become popular throughout the country and every Hindu is associated with it. The VHP and BD want that the Buda Amarnath yatra should be run on the same pattern, he added.

He said the Buda Amarnath yatra was running from centuries together but after the militancy gripped the State in 1989-90, this yatra was stopped in the wake of migration of Hindus from Poonch villages. Later Bajrang Dal took a challenge in 2005 to run this yatra and since then the Buda Amarnath yatra is running smoothly.

He said last year over 1.5 lakh pilgrims from different parts of country perform darshan at Buda Amarnath and it is expected that the number will increase this year.

Dr Jain stressed on revival of all religious yatras in J&K and urged the Government to take effective steps in this regard. He said in case the Government faces any problem in reviving these yatras the BD will provide all assistance and cooperation to it.

Stressing on Niyas and Shri Amarnath Shrine Board (SASB) cooperation he said, the Board should not side track Niyas and any controversy on yatra should be avoided.

The BJP MLA from Nagrota, Jugal Kishore Sharma was special guest on the occasion. While the function among others was attended by Divisional Commissioner Jammu Dr Pawan Kotwal, Deputy Commissioner, Jammu, Sanjeev Verma, Director Health Services, Jammu Dr Madhu Khullar, SSP Jammu, Anant Jain, Drug Controller, Dr Satish Gupta, BD national convener, Subash Chauhan, co-convener Rajesh Pandey, VHP state president Dr Rama Kant Dubey, BABAYN chief Surinder Mohan Aggarwal and others

No comments:

Post a Comment